HNO Logo

“The impact of five long years of conflict in Syria defies understanding, let alone its description. The human toll and suffering is sickening in this senseless fight where there is nothing much left to gain. Hundreds of thousands are dead. Millions have been displaced. Countless families torn apart. Towns decimated. Basic infrastructure destroyed. For many who are merely surviving, life is miserable. Deliberately deprived of food and medicine, many face the most appalling conditions of desolation, hunger and starvation. We must all be ashamed that this is happening on our watch.”

Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator, Stephen O’Brien Statement to the Security Council on Syria, New York, 28 April 2016

SYRIAN

ARAB REPUBLIC

PHOTO: Thaer Mohammed/AFP

Scroll
Humanitarian Needs PIN
Humanitarian Needs HTR & Besieged
Humanitarian Needs IDP
Humanitarian Needs Poverty
  • Key Figures 1
  • Key Figures 2
  • Key Figures 3
  • Key Figures 4
  • Key Figures 5
  • Key Figures 6
  • Key Figures 7
  • Key Figures 8
  • Key Figures 9
  • Key Figures 10
  • Key Figures 11
  • Key Figures 12
  • Key Figures 13
  • Key Figures 14
  • Key Figures 15
  • Key Figures 16
  • Key Figures 17
  • Key Figures 18
  • Key Figures 19
  • Key Figures 20
  • Key Figures 21
  • Key Figures 22
  • Key Figures 23
  • Key Figures 24
  • Key Figures 25
  • Key Figures 26
  • Key Figures 27
  • Key Figures 28
  • Key Figures 29
  • Key Figures 30
  • Key Figures 31
  • Key Figures 32
  • Key Figures 33
  • Key Figures 34
  • Key Figures 35
  • Key Figures 36
  • Key Figures 37
  • Key Figures 38
  • Key Figures 39
  • Key Figures 40
  • Key Figures 41
  • Key Figures 42
  • Key Figures 43
  • Key Figures 44
  • Key Figures 45
  • Key Figures 46
  • Key Figures 47
  • Key Figures 48

SEVERITY OF

NEED

While the crisis in Syria has left no one untouched, it has impacted upon people in different ways, with some parts of the country and segments of the population more acutely affected than others. Sector severity categorization tool looks to ensure that sector-specific humanitarian assistance is prioritized according to the level and scope of needs faced by people in Syria. These tools are supplemented by the inter-sectoral categorization tool which will be regularly updated to highlight changes on the ground and ensure humanitarian partners are able to identify areas where multi-sectoral needs converge and which therefore require strengthened inter-sector programming.

SEVERITY

Legend Severity
Legend HTR Hard-to-reach areas
Legend Besieged Besieged locations

NO. OF PEOPLE IN NEED

13.5M

BY SEX

Sector needs overview by gender

BY AGE

Sector needs overview by age

KEY MESSAGES

  • Grave violations of International Humanitarian and Human Rights Law continue, including direct targeting of civilians and indiscriminate attacks, resulting in loss of life, injury and deprivation.
  • Persistent and extreme violence, forced displacement and family separation have resulted in a high-risk protection environment for all persons living in Syria, with women and children particularly vulnerable.
  • Negative coping mechanisms have increased in use due to eroding community cohesion and exhausted resources, including economic assets necessary to survive.
PEOPLE TO CONTACT
Contacts icon @ocha_Syria
Camp Coordination and Camp Management icon Camp Coordination and Camp Management

WoS Coordinator: Jason Hepps

hepps@unhcr.org

WoS Co-coordinator: Sean McGirk

sean.mc-girk@acted.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Dher Hayo

hayo@unhcr.org

Sean McGirk

sean.mc-girk@acted.org
Early Recovery and Livelihood icon Early Recovery and Livelihoods

WoS Coordinator: Manal Fouani

manal.fouani@undp.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Manal Fouani

manal.fouani@undp.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Francesco Baldo

francesco.baldo@undp.org
Education icon Education

WoS Coordinator: Dina Craissati

dcraissati@unicef.org

WoS Co-coordinator: Erum Burki

erum.burki@savethechildren.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Amson Simbolon

asimbolon@unicef.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Maja Denic Munk

mdmunk@unicef.org

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Francesco Calcagno

fcalcagno@unicef.org
Emergency Telecommunications Emergency Telecommunications

WoS Coordinator: Dragan Mocevic

dragan.mocevic@wfp.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Dragan Mocevic

dragan.mocevic@wfp.org

Turkey/Jordan Hub Coordinator: Shahan Ara Qadir

shahan.araqadir@wfp.org
Food Security icon Food Security

WoS Coordinator: Samantha Chattaraj

Samantha.Chattaraj@wfp.org

WoS Co-coordinator: Barbara Bitton

BBitton@mercycorps.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Bernard Mrewa

bernard.mrewa@wfp.org

Jacopo Damelio

Jacopo.damelio@fao.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Davide Rossi

drossi@sy.goal.ie

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Samantha Chattaraj

Samantha.Chattaraj@wfp.org

Malek Al Radad

malraddad@irdglobal.org
Health icon Health

WoS Coordinator: Dr. Mauricio Calderon

mcalderon@who.int

WoS Co-coordinator: Dr. Mouna Mayoufi

mouna.mayoufi@rescue.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Azret Kalmykov

kalmykova@who.int

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Dr. Camilo Valderrama

valderramac@who.int

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Will Cragin

cradinw@who.int
Logistics icon Logistics

WoS Coordinator: Finne Lucey

finne.lucey@wfp.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Finne Lucey

finne.lucey@wfp.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Muhamad al-Nasser

muhamad.al-nasser@wfp.org

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Emad Beitar

emad.beitar@wfp.org

Samuel Terefe

samuel.terefe@wfp.org
Nutrition icon Nutrition

WoS Coordinator: Dr. Saja Abdullah

sabdullah@unicef.org

WoS Co-coordinator: Tatyana El Kour

tel-kour@me.acfspain.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Muhiadin Abdulahi

mabdulahi@unicef.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Wigdan Madani

wmadani@unicef.org

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Dr. Saja Abdullah

sabdullah@unicef.org
Shelter icon Shelter and Non-Food Items

WoS Coordinator: Jason Hepps

hepps@unhcr.org

WoS Co-coordinator: Greg Andrews

wos_nfi_shelter@drc-mena.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Joel Anderson

andressj@unhcr.org

Nadia Carlevaro

carlevar@unhcr.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Josef Acquati Lozej

lozej@unhcr.org

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Julie Steiger

steiger@unhcr.org

Angel Pascual

angel.pascual@nrc.no
Protection icon Protection

WoS Coordinator: Jason Hepps

(hepps@unhcr.org

WoS Child Protection Sub-Sector Coordinator: Susan Andrew

sandrew@unicef.org

WoS GBV Sub-Sector Coordinator: Jennifer Miquel

miquel@unfpa.org

WoS Mine Action Sub-Sector Coordinator: Brid Sheehan

bridsh@unops.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Pablo Zapata

zapata@unhcr.org

Syria Hub Child Protection Sub-Sector Coordinator: Kehkashan Beenish Khan

kbkhan@unicef.org

Syria Hub GBV Sub-Sector Coordinator: Rania Alahmer

alahmer@unfpa.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Sarah Khan

khansar@unhcr.org

Victoria Shepard

victoria.shepard@rescue.org

Turkey Hub Child Protection Sub-Sector Coordinator: Abdikadir Abdi

abdikadir_abdi@wvi.org

Turkey Hub GBV Sub-Sector Coordinator: Maria Margherita Maglietti

maglietti@unfpa.org

Turkey Hub Mine Action Sub-Sector Coordinator: Brid Sheehan

bridsh@unops.org

Jordan Hub Coordinator: Julie Steiger

steiger@unhcr.org

Jordan Hub Child Protection Sub-Sector Coordinator: Susan Andrew

sandrew@unicef.org

Jordan Hub GBV Sub-Sector Coordinator: Karanja Ephraim

ekimani@unfpa.org
WASH icon Water, Sanitation and Hygiene

WoS Coordinator: Roberto Saltori

rsaltori@unicef.org

WoS Co-coordinator: Jakub Pajak

jakub.pakak@acted.org

Syria Hub Coordinator: Madhav Pahari

mpahari@unicef.org

Turkey Hub Coordinators: Zaid Jurji

zjurji@unicef.org

Omar Sobeh

wash.coordination.turkey@gmail.com

Jordan Hub Coordinators: Roberto Saltori

rsaltori@unicef.org

Jennifer Snell

Jennifer.snell@care.org
WASH icon Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)

OCHA Regional Office for the Syria Crisis

ocharosyr@un.org